Sunday, May 31, 2009

Where does she get this stuff?

A quick post from last week that I had written down but never got around to posting.  

When Chris was in Canada last week Ava said some of the funniest things.  She is getting so good with her vocabulary and actually speaking in full sentences.  I had to share!

"How about that one?"  She will ask this when we go to the garage (asking about the car).

"Mama!  You go timeout!"  She says this to me when I tell her no or she gets mad.

"Honey, what's wrong?"  We were sitting on the couch just watching TV and she started patting my back and all of a sudden this statement came out of her little mouth.

"I need guitar pick."  She thinks now before she goes to Amy's in the morning she needs to take a guitar pick with her (wonder where she gets this).  The cutest part about this is she likes to stick it in her "pocket" (diaper).  


Thursday, May 28, 2009

Good Night Ava!!

I have to get this post out of my brain before my day gets started and it magically disappears.  Our night time ritual with Ava hasn't really ever been a "routine" per say but now that she is getting older I am beginning to wonder if that is where I might have gone wrong. 

Ava is now in a toddler bed and has been for almost a full month.  She loves the bed!  She loves to jump on it, lay her babies down for a nap and even tear off all the blankets just so I can remake the bed.  What she DOESN'T love to do in it is SLEEP IN IT!!  Well, that was the case last night.  

Last night I was determined to get us both to bed early due to the long night prior (pretty much the same thing that happened last night).  So, we went about our somewhat of a routine of brushing our teeth, getting a baby to sleep with, saying our prayers and putting on a snoopy listening tape (sometimes we do this over books and sometimes we do both).  So, I kissed Ava good night and told her night night and I loved her and went off to my bed.  This was at 9:15 p.m.  I lay there with my eyes open wondering if/when she will start crying realizing I left her alone in there.  Nothing.  Silence.  I go about closing my eyes and start to relax.    

Relaxing is under way but I glance at the clock at 9:45 p.m. and then look over into the hallway. There is Ava standing at her doorway (Elmo in hand) just standing there.  She slowly starts to venture into the dark hallway making the most careful baby steps as if she is trying not to wake anyone.  I can't help but watch her and laugh (silently) wondering if she will just go back to bed if I don't say anything.  I WANT to say "hi Ava, you want to come sleep with mama?"  But I didn't for 2 reasons - I didn't want to startle her and I really didn't want her to sleep with me but rather just cuddle a little bit and then take her back to her bed.  I remained silent.  Watching. Wondering what must be going through her little brain as she walks slowly closer to our bedroom.  She decides to stop.  She turns and goes back into her room.  

I am amazed!  This child didn't say a word but rather decided it would be best if she just went back into her room and went to bed.  

Well, not quite.  

A few minutes later I see her again.  Wondering out into the hallway.  This is so cute and funny to see her walk so slowly but cautiously in the hallway.  I really can't believe she hasn't called out for me yet.  The hallway is not really a hallway but rather a square that connects forks off into Ava's room, her bathroom, our bedroom and the guest bedroom as well as the stairs but it is DARK!  The only light is coming from the glow of her nightlight in her room.  

Ava then decided she was going to venture into our room.  Very slowly she walks up to our bed (I am still watching her) and she reaches her little toddler hand up to feel for me.  I then ask her "Ava, why are you out of bed.  It's time for night night".  I couldn't resist.  She was just so darn cute standing there and all she really wanted was to love on me a bit.  I picked her up and put her into bed with me.  She laid there until she was fast asleep.

I then take her to her bed around 10:30.  Sleep.  More Sleep.  11:30 she falls out of bed and starts crying.  I go in and put her back in bed and kiss her good night.  Sleep.  12:30 she starts crying while walking into our room.  I pick her up and put her back to her bed.  I wonder if I have started a "routine" she likes?  I fall back asleep.  2:30 a.m. yet again, here she comes wondering into my room crying.  By now, I am just frustrated and tired.  I pick her up and tell her she has to sleep in her big girl bed.  I take her back to bed.  Turn on her snoopy tape, kiss her good night and go back to bed.  

By talking about starting a routine, this isn't exactly the routine I wanted to start.  






 

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Thoughtless

I am completely thoughtless today.  I am really trying to simplify my life before our Cancun Vaca (7 days away) so I don't freak out the day before departure.  I may have to ask for some magical blue pills before I leave and get a Bloody Mary on our 6:30 a.m. flight just to feel like I am remaining in control.  

Chris is in Canada this week for work leaving 
Ava and I to enjoy some time together so even if I wanted to complete some of my never ending "to do" lists (I have a list for all the lists I have) it wouldn't get done anyway.  So, I have decided this week just to relax and really enjoy these couple days with Ava - just her and I.   With that being said, this post will be short and sweet - literally.  

We are off to watch Baby Songs!



Friday, May 22, 2009

Memorial Day Weekend

We are off to enjoy our long weekend with my sister and her family!!  Take some time out this Memorial Day weekend and hug your loved ones and remember loved ones lost.  This Memorial Day weekend we will be remembering.....Leon Johnson, Florian Kraus, Virgil Ramsey, Matt Nemechek, and George Leon.  

Have a safe and fun Memorial Day weekend!  
 

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Target Trip - 5/19/09

Just have to say that I have the best kid in the world!  Ava and I have been out running errands as well as getting in a good workout (thanks Derek) since 5:30!!  She never once complained or got cranky and sat in the cart at Target the ENTIRE TIME without asking to get out ONCE!!!  Now, we opened some snacks while doing a little shopping but hey, whatever works to keep them entertained!  Below is a picture of what I bought at Target with details to what I spent and how much I saved.....I didn't do too bad.  The lady behind me asked me where I got all those coupons!!

Items Purchased:
1 box 100 calorie pack snacks (we opened these in the store)
1 bottle of Elmo bubble bath
2 bottles of Target brand baby wash
2 small cans of Pringles
1 can of Skintimate shave gell
1 3-pack of Crystal Light water flavorings
4 bottles of Sobe Life Water (2 of which we opened in the store)
2 frozen Bertolli meals
1 box of Huggies diapers

Total Value: $48.61

Total Spent: $31.86

I saved $16.75 just by using coupons!!!  Thank you Target!!

Lost in my thoughts

Today I want to give you a little insight as to what goes through my head on a daily basis.  Like I said, this blog is suppose to be cheaper than therapy and today is one of those days that I would be visiting my counselor.  I have so many "projects" that I not only want but NEED to get done on top of my regular activities and I can find any reason to add something else to my list when really I should be letting go like my sister recommends.  

This is what I though about today........

Will I make it to CVS before we leave on Friday for Holiday weekend....do I want to try and squeeze in a Walgreens trip...man, I just hate passing up a good deal if I don't go....I need to go to Walmart (make a list, check).....oh, and I need to go to Target (make a list, check).....I need to return that frame I bought to Michaels....I need to get frames that actually fit our family pictures we had taken in OCTOBER.....I need to research or rather decide where I will put the pictures once they are all in frames.....I know Chris hates putting holes in the walls so I better be sure....I need to transform Ava's room into a big girl room now that she is sleeping in her big girl bed.....I saw some really cute ideas at Pottery Barn with Val last weekend....I wonder if my sister will help me make the butterfly canvas if I bring all the supplies.....I need to find a butterly template and blow it up on line.....I need to buy cardstock and dig through my pretty scrapbook paper so I can make the butterflies....I better write out the things I need to get before our Cancun trip.....man, that is 2 weeks away.....I wonder if I can shed 9 more pounds in 2 weeks.....I need to pick up my sisters right hand ring at the mall on Thursday....I CAN'T forget (write it down, check).....I should drop my ring off to be fixed as well so I have it before Cancun.....my coupons are such a mess and my trips would be easier and faster if I could get a better organization system.....I need to call Chase to make sure they received our pay off balance and sent the title to the car......Thursday, return salon products to Serenity Rejuvinating spa (I am allergic to them).....sign Ava up for swim and dance this summer.....weigh in at WW tonight and take Ava with me.....work on creating a Blurb book since scrapbooking is the last thing on my list.....watch the 4 episodes of Grey's Anatomy I have missed (including the season finale)....what should Ava and I eat for dinner tonight (Chris is at a work function).................

Ok, so all of those thoughts went through my head today BEFORE NOON!!!  


Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Pool time!! Well, almost.......

Today when I came home from work I passed a house in the neighborhood having a "pool" party in the front yard.  Kids were in their bathing suits, a baby pool was filled with water and moms were sitting in lawn chairs, a sure sign that summer is right around the corner.  It was so nice outside I decided to put Ava in her brand new lady bug swimsuit so we could play outside.  Now, her baby pool is still in storage above the garage so I made due with the next best thing.  I don't think Ava cared one bit we were using a bucket instead of a pool....the proof is in the pictures!!




I saaawweee daddy......

For those of you who do not know, we put Ava in a big girl toddler bed on May 2nd and the first week she did great!!  She never got out and never cried when we put her to bed; I seriously thought it wouldn't be that easy!  WELL, let me tell you....it isn't!!!  For some reason about last week she started crying like a mad woman when we put her down and realized she could get out of bed at her own leisure.  

On Sunday night I had to take her back to her bed 3 times all of which she was screaming bloody murder.  While I was in transit to her room I couldn't help but think back to the story my mother-in-law has told me about how they used to have to shut their bedroom door to keep their oldest, Jenny, out of their room.  They would awake to find her sleeping snug as a bug on the floor right in front of their door!!  

Last night after Chris put her to bed he came back downstairs and I didn't hear any crying.  I asked him if she went down easy and he replied "Well, I suppose; she isn't crying but she is still awake."  Right as he said that it was like she was right on cue and the screaming began.  We let her cry and cry while I patiently listened and it sounded as if the crying was getting closer.  I couldn't see her but I am sure she was out of her bed at the top of the stairs screaming, hoping we would come up and lay with her.  Then out of her little 2 year old mouth came the words......"I saaawwweee daddy."  It was so cute.  She was apologizing to Chris.  Did she think she had done something wrong and we were punishing her?  I couldn't help but chuckle but knew the right thing to do was to let her figure it out and not run to her.  

When I finally decided to go to bed about 20 minutes after everything had gone silent I went to her room to check on her.  She was still awake!!  Just lying there with a tear soaked pillow.  She very quietly said "mama lay down with me" and I was putty in her hands.  I couldn't help myself.  

I laid my head down on her bed, she put her arm around my head and started patting me on my back.  Too cute!!

Monday, May 18, 2009

Water Balloon Fun


Sunday we decided to have some water balloon fun with Ava.  Well, Chris and Ava tossed water balloons and I played photographer.  It was so fun watching her try to figure out why the balloons she was tossing were not popping.  After much trial and error she decided stepping on them and squeezing them as hard as she could would make the balloons pop!  
FINALLY!!!

Saturday, May 16, 2009

Turkey Creek Festival

Today Ava and I went to the Turkey Creek Festival with Val and Brax and Abbey and Noah!  Lots of arts and crafts to look at; animals to feed, pet and ride; a choo choo train; a school bus ride as well as some good ole fashion playing in the park.  The weather was a little chilly but the kiddos didn't seem to mind (I have posted pics below). 



(Enjoying a snack while waiting for the choo choo)

(Haning with the boys, Brax and Noah)





Friday, May 15, 2009

CVS v. Jennifer - I won!!

Today was a great day!  

Ava and I went to our last Kindermusik class with Miss Julie (www.juliesmusicbrioso.kindermusik.net) this moring and then Ava went to Miss Amy's house to play for a bit while I ran some errands. 

I started at the VW dealership to get our orange beetle serviced and ready to sell to my sister over Memorial Day weekend.  After that I figured a much deserved and NEEDED trip to CVS would be next on my list.  I went and conquered spending only $2.46 for $19.30 worth of stuff!! I ate lunch at Arby's to redeem my free Roast Beef sandwich and in the mean time got 2 more free roast beef sandwiches!!  I then headed on over to Famous Footwear.  I have $30 in "rewards cash" that I thought would be used for buying a cute and good pair of tennis shoes that aren't necessarily for working out but rather for our Cancun trip and our possible sightseeing adventures.  Ended up leaving with NO SHOES but will revisit another one tomorrow.  I then decided it was time to workout.  I went to the gym and did a 1 mile warmup and then did my weight training (that last chance, killer workout I blogged about in a previous post).  On my way to get Ava from daycare I decided to do one more CVS trip and made 2 transactions spending $3.74 on one and $4.75 on another.  See below for full breakdown.  To make somewhat of a long story short CVS tried to rip me off not once, not twice but three times on my ECB's!  Little did they know that I have been playing this game now for about 2 months and politely called BS!!  

Take a look at what I got today.  I put it all in one picture but have listed the different transactions below.  Some of you may be wondering what I am going to do with all this stuff.  I am going to start giving it to my family, the church and of course we start our stock pile as well. 

Items Purchased:
2 bottles of men's Nivea Body wash - $9.98
1 pack of Wisps - $1.99
1 Schick Quattro Trimmer - $8.99
3 travel size Nivea body wash- $3.27
5 Colgate toothbrushes - $10.95
1 Crest pro-health toothpaste - $3.49
2 Bayer Quick Release tablets - $5.98
2 Vickery & Clarke chapstick - $3.46

Total Value  - $49.48
Total Spent - $10.95

I WON!!!!

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Not much to add....

Well this post really will be short and sweet.  

Great day at work.  I got my whitening trays and gel today.

Wonderful workout with my trainer.  

Came home and Ava had already gotten a bath from Daddy.



I thought this mohawk Chris gave her was picture worthy

Made myself something to eat.  Walked with a freshly bathed Ava along side to the mailbox (see pics below).

Watched Kris Allen make it to the final 2 on American Idol - WOO HOO!!

Blogging then going to bed.  
Walking to the mailbox, mail in hand

Ava heard a train and had to give a quick shout out (toot toot!)





Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Today was my Monday....

This post is going to be long BUT sweet....or not, you decide.  

Started my day off to a great start.  I packed my gym bag this morning so I could work out over lunch (I felt bad for what I ate last night) and was actually looking forward to a noon workout.  So, after the last patient left today at straight up noon, I raced to my car to race to the gym to race into the dressing room and change my clothes so fast the lady next me is wondering where the fire is, ONLY to realize (after I was dressed) that I had forgotten my tennis shoes!  I 
was so mad I could cry.  Me, cry over NOT being able to workout?  That doesn't sound normal for those of you who know me, but yes, I was very disappointed.  I am 3 weeks away from Cancun and 9 pounds from my "pre-Ava" weight (finally, after only 2 years of trying to take it off) that yes, I was actually pissed off becuase I couldn't workout.  I thought about working out in my work shoes but I am the type of person that if I can't do it full force, I don't want to do it at all.  

I leave the gym very upset and thought I would go drown my sorrows in a diet cherry limeade from Sonic only to remember that I left the office in such a mad scramble and realize I have no form of payment.  I decide to go back work with no diet cherry limeade and the entire way there (5 minutes) I promise myself not all is lost and that I will just go to the gym AFTER work.  

I get back to work and proceed about 
my day of which included getting our postage meter switched over to the new postage.  I call Pitney Bowes only to be transferred 3 times and then hung up on once!  My day is not getting any better is all I could think.  When I finally do get through to someone I am the type that tells them about the drama of me FINALLY getting to talk to a live operator (as if he really cares) and he is sympathetic and very prompt in making sure my meter is updated with very little small talk or upselling....looks as if my day was then starting to turn around.

To top my day off (and this is actually good) while waiting for other patients to arrive, one of the benefits of working in a "cadillac service" dental office is that you actually get "cadillac quality" service!!  So, with one quick mention of wanting whiter teeth I find myelf in the Dr.'s chair being fitted for whitening trays (see picture below).  Since this is MY blog and I can do this I am going to throw out a quick shout out to my peeps and Morningstar Family Dental www.morningstardental.com.  I truly enjoy working with the staff of friends that I have very quickly turned into what I consider family.  We laugh together, we cry together and best of all we have Martini Thursday together!  This office is top notch!  I was a patient at Morningstar Family Dental long before working there and little did I know then what type of lasting impact th
ey would have on my life just by going to my regular check ups!  If anyone is looking for a dental office that truly delivers service....look nofurther!  Thanks again Dr. Lucero for my whitening trays.  I will forever be a walking, talking billboard for our office and I will have the white teeth to prove it!



This is where the magic happens people!!

Sunday, May 10, 2009

Locked in the car!!

Ok, so this post is coming a day late but after the day/evening yesterday I had to have a day to recover. Yesterday we spent the entire day (10-4) shopping for a new vehicle. My sister is buying our little orange beetle and we have been talking about getting another vehicle for quite some time now. Well, we found one!! It' is a 2007 Mazda CX-7 and it is gorgeous! It has leather seats, sirius radio, remote key start (this is important for the story) and most of all it has some room to lay seats down if we ever need to bring something big home; we had to bring our BBQ grill home in the Beetle but it worked!!

So, yesterday at around 6:30 or so we decided to take it out to go get ice cream. We soon realized the car seat was in the white Mazda (yes, we love our Mazda's) and so we decided we would go out and buy another seat and move her current seat over to the new Mazda so we could all go do that together. We put Ava inside the new Mazda and Chris began that process. I went back inside the house to get a towel to put down before he put the seat on the leather seats. When I came out Ava was in the passenger seat and Chris shut the door on the side he was working on just for a second......and that's all it took! All the other doors were shut (remember, i had just stepped back into the garage from bringing down a towel). All of a sudden our very smart little girl picked up the car keys that were laying in the seat and she hit the button.....all the doors locked and the car started! Yep, that's right our 2 year old had locked herself in the car and started it all with the click of a button! I can't decide whether to laugh or cry so I proceed to do both and then start to panic.

We just bought this car a couple hours ago and the kicker is it only came with one key, the key that Ava had inside the vehicle with her!

Let the coaxing begin. It went a little something like this......

Chris: Ava, come hit the button (Chris pointing to the unlock button on the door)
Me: Ava, push the button for daddy
Ava: NOOOOOO
Chris: Come on baby, just push the button and we will go get ice cream!
Me: Ava, you want mama to get in with you? Ok, push the button
Ava: NOOOOOO.....followed by tears

So, thinking this child could any minute put the car into drive (yeah, probably not likely but who is really thinking rationally when their toddler is locked in a running car) I run inside and call 911. Now, this is the first time I have EVER called 911 and yes, I was the hysterical mother on the other end. The dispatcher was very nice and was going to send someone out right away but in the mean time suggested I call the locksmith (duh, why didn't I think of that on my own). So, I hung up and did just that.

After all my calls had been made I ran back out to the garage and hear Chris yelling "NOOOOO". Running even faster to the garage wondering what could she have done now upon arrival I see she has proceeded to turn on the windshield wipers (and I thought it was something serious). So while we patiently wait for the police to show up Ava has proceeded to turn on the heated seats and the windshield wipers but for some reason can not and does not want to hit the unlock button.

The police officer arrives and he tries the same thing...."come on Ava, hit the button" shining his flashlight on the button she needs to hit. He also put out spokes behind the back tires that way if she did put the car in reverse at least it would be stopped by flat tires before it backed into the house across the street. I decide to walk around to the drivers side of the car and continue asking her to hit the button. She begins to hit buttons on the steering wheel and so I ask her one more time "Ava, honey, hit this button" as I point the police officer shines his light on the button and VOILA she unlocks the car!! I hurry and open the door before she has the chance to lock it and again and give her the biggest hug and love a mother could possibly give.

We thank the police officer and send him on his way. The locksmith never did show up but I did call them back and told them she unlocked it and we would not be needing their services.

We did end up making that ice cream run and some how it tasted even better that evening!

(Sorry no pictures of this incident, I was too panicked to think to grab the camera)

Happy Mother's Day!


I had the best Mother's Day today. It started off with my wonderful husband letting me sleep in until 10:30!! Can you believe that? I haven't slept in that late....well......since.....definitely before Ava! The day followed with a wonderful gift certificate presented to me by Chris and Ava entitling me to a day out with my new fabulous girlfriend (Valerie) for lunch at Yia Yia's and a girls day of shopping next weekend!! To top off next weekend it will end with a wonderful day of well deserved (yes, I said well deserved for myself) of pampering with a massage, mani and pedi! What more could a girl ask for?! Well, let me tell you....Chris did all the laundry today and made sure Ava was his responsibility the ENTIRE day! We all had dinner as a family at Bo Ling's and topped the evening off at Wal-mart buying a second car seat for our new vehicle (Mazda CX-7). To all those mother's out there that may be reading this....I hope your day was as special as mine was. Thank you Chris for making this a great weekend!! I love you!!

Saturday, May 9, 2009

How much is that doggy in the window?

As I noted in a previous post, Ava and I had many an errand to run on Friday. Everyday when I drive down 151st street towards Metcalf to get to work I pass a Petland with a very inviting "come and play" sign in the window. So, as I am driving to keep along with the 5pm rush hour traffic I decide that digging through my purse and scrounging around for something to write on at the next RED light is the absolute best thing to do while patiently waiting for that light to turn GREEN.

Note: Bring Ava to play with puppies

Here are some pictures of that such thing....how cute!!

So, back to the original question....how much is that puppy in the window??

$2000

enough said!

We settled for a $1 ice cream treat at Sonic instead!!



CVS 5/3-5/9



Loved me some CVS this week! Not once, but twice!

Items purchased:
Colgate toothpaste - $2.99
Adidas deoderant - $3.99
Renu eye solution - $7.99
Zantrax energy shot - $4.99
Glade sense & spray - $8.99
2 Nivea men's face wash - $11.98
Nivea chapstick - $2.99

Total Value: $43.93
Total Spent: $19.31

YEAH BABY!!

5/8 Staples Trip



Ava and I ventured out to run some quick errands on Friday....ok, not so quick but it was on Friday none the less! I went to Staples for 3 items all of which were in stock and you will never believe the deal I received.

Items purchased:
2 reams of HP multi-purpose paper $6.29 each ($12.58)
1 Casio labelmaker $19.99
1 10 pack Self adhesive laminating sheets $7.99

Total Value: $40.56
Total Spent: NOTHING!! I had a Rebate Visa card from a previous Staples purchase

and here comes the sweet part.......I will get $32.58 back in MIR (mail-in-rebates) of which have already been sent in online.

So, moral of this trip.....Staples will pay YOU to shop in their store! Give it a try!

Walgreens Trip 5/3-5/9


This is my first attempt at Walgreens and while my OOP (out of pocket) was more than I had hoped, I do feel for the first trip this was profitable.  Expect better savings next week!

Items purchased:
Clairol Nice-n-Easy Hair color - $6.99
Bic Soleil Disposable Razors - $5.99
3 boxes Mr. Clean Magic Eraser - $7.50
Riteguard Deoderant - $2.99
Colgate Sensitive toothpaste - $4.49
Bayer Quick Release crystals - $2.49
3 bottles of Vitamin enhanced Tea - $$2.97 (one is missing....yes, I drank it)
2 bottles of bubbles $1.39 (Ava was with me, can't leave the store without something for her!)

Total value: $42.44
Total spent: $22.81